Spontaneity and Guilt-Free Cheese

I would never use the word spontaneous to describe myself. I actually would choose the antonym of spontaneous. I am extremely structured and organized and I am pretty stubborn when it comes to changing up a routine. But yesterday, I made a quick decision to do this….

New Hair

9 ½ inches gone. It was so fun. I, thankfully, have a good friend in Orlando that does hair so it was not something I had to wait around for ( if that was the case I would have eventually changed my mind). However, within 24 hours of thinking about doing it, it was done! When I texted her, she already had a vision of how my hair would look and started sending me pictures of Hailey Devine. I loved everything about this woman’s hair and could not wait to take a risk! It makes me want to be more spontaneous with more of my life. 🙂

This week has overall been off to a great start. I had the opportunity to sit in on interviews with my principal yesterday to higher an extra set of hands for my classroom, we visited our friends  adorable newborn,  and enjoyed a stroll around the park with a good friend this morning.

Baby Joshua

This morning I also pulled my tiny hair back into a ponytail  and used my Sworkit App to do a 10 minute upper body and 10 minute core circuit workout. If you have not heard of Sworkit before, it is a free app that is perfect for daily circuit training strength and cardio workouts, yoga, Pilates, and stretching. You can choose the type of workout you want and then follow created video routines from 5 to 60 minutes.

For lunch today, I enjoyed a Mexican wrap made with Vegan Cheese. I do not follow a vegan diet. I love myself some grilled chicken, ground turkey, turkey sausage, and a nice steak every now and then. 🙂 But, like I said in my about me, I love to experiment in the kitchen. Ben loves going to lunch at a Orlando restaurant called Dandelion Cafe and often comes home and expresses his love for the vegan cheese they have to dip tortilla chips in. I decided to look into what vegan cheese consists of and now it has become one of my favorite addition to Mexican dishes! I put it on top of rice and bean dishes, Mexican casseroles, lunch wraps, and my all-time favorite, sprinkled on top of tortilla chips!

It may look a little strange, but it is nutritious, delicious, and so easy!

The Kandt’s Vegan Queso:

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/4 cups cashews, raw
  • 1/3 cup nutritional yeast
  • 1 cup water
  • 1/2 cup non-dairy milk (I use almond milk)
  • 2 Tbsp green chilies (canned) ( save the rest of the chilies because you will want to make more!)
  • 2 tsp garlic powder
  • 2 tsp of oregano
  • 1 tsp of thyme
  • ½ tsp of red pepper flakes
  • 2 teaspoons paprika
  • 1 teaspoon of onion powder
  • 1/2 tsp cumin powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt and pepper

Directions:

  1. Boil 4 cups of water in a large pot. Add the cashews. Boil for 2-3 minutes then turn off heat and strain out cashews.
  2. Add all ingredients to a high-speed blender. Blend from low to high until silky smooth (about 1 minute)
  3. Store in fridge. Best served warm ( heat in microwave).

Cashews

The queso has two different consistencies. When taken out of the blender/fridge, it should be silky smooth. I use it like this on the rice dishes and on my wraps.When it is placed in the microwave, you will need to mix it around with a spoon and it makes more of a queso consistency.

Vegan Cheese Queso

If you give this recipe a try, I would LOVE to hear your thoughts.

Have you done anything spontaneous lately? What is your favorite vegan recipe?

One thought on “Spontaneity and Guilt-Free Cheese

Leave a Reply

