First Day of Summer Quinoa Salad

Hello and Happy Fathers Day to all of the fantastic fathers out there!

View More: http://ktcrabbphoto.pass.us/benandalana

You have always looked at me with an adored/proud of you/I am for you/never against you/you are my treasure, look on your face. Because of that, I have a glimpse of the way my heavenly father sees me. You are my #coffeedad, and I love you. πŸ™‚

This weekend has gone by so quick. It is officially summer in Florida with the perfect weather during the day and monsoon/hurricane/ are we even safe/ weather coming in around 4:00 pm. After the storms come through it usually results in beautiful unique skies all over the place. Am I right Florida people?

Rainbow Lake Apopka

One of my favorite things about this weekend was celebrating one of my very best friends, Jordan. Her birthday celebrations consisted of breakfast, roller blades, and a hurricane-themed dinner party due to the weather I was talking about earlier. I can go on and on about this girl and her impact in my life, but I will save that for another post. πŸ™‚ She is SO easy to celebrate.

Breakfast Skating Jordan

Going with the summer theme, since today is officially the “first day of summer,” here is a delicious lunch option that we have been enjoying for the past couple of days at home!

Quinoa Salad

Summer Quinoa Salad

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup uncooked quinoa
  • 1 + 1/2 cups shelled edamame, thawed, if frozen
  • 1 mango, peeled and diced
  • 1/2 red bell pepper, diced small
  • 1/2 green bell pepper, diced small
  • 1 small red onion, diced small
  • 3/4 cup unsweetened coconut flakes
  • 3/4 cup sliced or slivered almonds
  • 1/2 cup raisins
  • 2 tablespoons fresh chopped cilantro
  • 2 limes, juiced
  • 1/4 cup balsamic vinegar
  • salt and pepper, to taste

Instructions:

  1. Cook Quinoa
  2. In a large mixing bowl toss everything together and season with salt and pepper to taste.
  3. RefrigerateΒ for at least 30 minutes before serving.

Everything is cut up small, like a chopped salad and even though there’s a lot of chopping to do it can be done in the time it takes to cook and cool off the quinoa. Β Ben and I double teamed and the words ” this is so fun” came out of his mouth as he was chucking the edamame.

It makes a huge bowl full – enough to eat for lunch everyday (with tortilla chips, of course) for an entire week or more making it perfect for a pot luck, party or a day at the beach. It’s gluten free and vegan too!

How are you celebrating your dad today? What is your favorite summer potluck dish?

2 thoughts on “First Day of Summer Quinoa Salad

  1. Delicious! I love quinoa in salads – it gives them so much more staying power! Celebrated my step-dad with a delicious brunch and my boyfriends dad with a BBQ at night πŸ™‚ Favorite potluck dish = fruit salad. Such an essential and I love love love all the fresh fruit in the summer!

    Like

Leave a Reply

