Make it Your Own

One of the staples here at the Kandt home is oatmeal. Actually, I am pretty sure I eat this exact recipe 364 days a year. Not only do I love the taste, but it fuels me for the day and always leaves me with a satisfied-full feeling.  I have also had friends that despise oatmeal, allow me to make this for them. They usually love it and now consistently create their own in the mornings. That is why I thought I would share it.  Oatmeal is wonderful because you can make it your own. Below, I share my favorite way to create it. You may have most of these ingredients in your pantry. If you do, give it a try, then let me know what you think! 🙂

The Kandt Home Oatmeal

Oatmeal IngredientsPB2

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 2 tbs chia seeds (optional)
  • Half of a banana
  • 1/3 cup of water
  • 2 tablespoons of all natural peanut butter (or PB2)
  • 1 1/2 tablespoon of honey
  • 1 tsp of vanilla
  • A dash of cinnamon

Directions:

  1. Combine the oats with the water, banana and chia seeds.

Oatmeal Before

  1. Place in the microwave for 2 minutes and 30 seconds.
  2. Add honey, peanut butter, vanilla, and mix together until banana and peanut butter is mixed into the oatmeal.
  3. Top with a dash of cinnamon.

 OATMEAL AFTER

Today I decided to take a break from running and do a Tabata workout. Tabata workouts, similar to oatmeal, are wonderful because you can be creative and make them your own. If you wanted to, you could do a 10 minute Tabata workout, or a one hour Tabata workout. Today I wanted to do a full body workout so I worked on my legs, abs, and arms for a total of 16 minutes. Here is what my workout looked like….

Tabata Workout

If you are not familiar with a Tabata workout, it is a high intensity interval training. The structure of the program is:

  • Workout hard for 20 seconds
  • Rest for 10 seconds
  • Complete eight rounds

I use an app on my phone to help me keep track of the time. I took a snapshot so, if you were interested, you can download it for free!

TABATA

What is your favorite thing to eat in the morning? What are some of your favorite at home workouts?

7 thoughts on “Make it Your Own

  1. I love to have oatmeal and almond butter for breakfast. It really has good staying power and holds me over until lunch! Favorite at home workouts are definitely circuits. I’m so anti-lifting that it’s the only way I get in a decent amount of strength training in. Hope you have a great day!!

    Like

    1. Jamie. Thanks for reading!! Almond butter sounds wonderful in oatmeal. I will have to try! I agree with the anti-lifting. I am not a fan either. I will have to look into more circuits while I have the time this summer. =)

      Liked by 1 person

    2. 對不起請問未來會有繁體版嗎QAQ(看不懂簡體…超想買的!!!!!跪求ˊ口ˋ[]匿名 回复:三月 24th, 2011 at 09悦因為港台預訂現在只有十幾個,即使出繁體版也不夠量開機印刷小說本:–‡å­—量太大,轉換成繁體校對很麻煩所以暫時沒有做繁體版的打算,請見諒ˊ口ˋ不過如果港台預訂量達到可以開機印刷的數目后大æ44可以考慮哦~[]秀秀 回复:三月 24th, 2011 at 09:46啊咧忘記寫ID!上面的是我![]風藤嵐 回复:三月 27th, 2011 at 00:04台灣的預定要在PF以後才開..要怎麼到達預定量呢QAQ[]

      Like

    1. Julie, thanks for the warm welcome! What kind of cereal do you like? I used to be that way with Kellogg’s, Special K, Red Berries! It was hard to break the routine but once I tried this oatmeal recipe, I was changed for life. It is especially great in the winter time!

      Like

Leave a Reply

