A Psalm Soaked Summer

Sunday afternoon Ben and I packed our bags and headed to Cocoa for a week at the beach!

Cocoa Beach

Last year, Ben had the opportunity to be the lead speaker at a youth camp for students in middle school and high school and I had the privilege of being a chaperon for the girls. We had the chance to do the same thing again this summer!

The day consists of waking up with a devotion, breakfast, spending the morning surfing, lunch, spending the afternoon surfing, dinner, worship, sermon, and sleep. We repeat that cycle for four days straight. In a sense, it feels like a vacation. Whenever we leave, I always ask Ben if he would consider being a traveling pastor when he graduates from seminary. Maybe Greece needs a youth group speaker? Spain? Australia? 😉

The beach is one of my favorite places in the world. When I’m staying there, it often becomes a motivator for workouts. There are constantly people running, biking, stretching, swimming, and doing yoga on the beach. I woke up almost every morning to get a run in.

Alana Running on Beach

Ben must have been motivated as well because he decided to join me one morning!

Ben and Alana Running

We also showed the youth group how to do the Bring Sally Up Challenge and had a blast doing it in such a large group. The bring Sally Up Challenge is a challenge that Ben and I do together on a regular basis at home. You can see how it is done here with squats, and here with push-ups.

Bring Sally Up Picture

Below, is a video of us doing it with the students….

I also checked paddle boarding in the ocean off my Summer Bucket List…..

DCIM100GOPRO

Overall it was an incredible week! Prayers were answered and lives were changed by the gospel. I grew to love the students I had the benefit of chaperoning and I am encouraged by their vulnerability and desire to experience the Lord more deeply.

Room 9

I am also an extremely proud wife. Because of the time and preparation Ben put into his sermons, I view reading and praying scripture in a completely different way than I did coming into this week. Ben preached with passion and humility and I am blown away by the way he has responded to the way God has gifted him.

I am excited to get back into a routine at home. One of the things I miss the most when I am away is home-cooked meals. I am currently putting together one of Ben’s favorite sweet tooth treats! A healthy alternative to his love language (cookies).

Energy Balls

Be on the lookout for the recipe soon. Have a wonderful Saturday!

What are your favorite things to do at the beach? What do you miss the most when you are away from home?

Leave a Reply

